Budget DIY Ukulele Pick Holder

Image Posted on Updated on

Well I spotted this while watching the popular documentary Mighty Ukes, when it was aired the other day. Every time they showed the Langley Ukulele Ensemble I could see that most of them had elastic bands wrapped round the headstock of their ukulele.

Budget DIY Ukulele Pick Holder

It took me while to figure out, then I realised, they’re on a low-budget tip too… It’s a Budget DIY Ukulele Pick Holder! Simply wrap the elastic band around the very top of the ukulele headstock and slip your picks under the elastic band, so simple yet so effective. Giving the player quick access to their pick during gigs, they can simply and quickly slip the pick back under the elastic band when not in use. I suspect you can hold a few picks in there if you are like me (all fingers and thumbs) and drop the odd pick while playing.

I’m guessing the idea came from their talented instruction Peter Luongo (Mr. Ukulele), although it could have been one of the students. I tried to research it a little but couldn’t find any solid evidence, although I did come across this neat idea from Sk8rDuck for another way of using an elastic band to hold you picks, which can be adapted to a key or neck chain.

Budget DIY Key/Neck Chain Ukulele Pick Holder

If any of you know where the first idea came from originally please let me know, as I always like to give the correct credit where it is due.

>>SPACER<<

Please share this post, spread the word and follow UK Ukee on WordPress, Twitter, Google+ & Facebook for more tips, tricks and tools for DIY Ukulele Luthiery, repair, setup & maintenance!

>>SPACER<<

>>SPACER<<

Leave a Reply

